48th LD Town Hall Event

Please join Sen. Patty Kuderer, Rep. Joan McBride and Rep. Vandana Slatter at a town hall meeting from 10 to 11:30 a.m. on Saturday, January 28 at the Redmond City Hall. This will be an opportunity to hear about what’s happening in Olympia, meet your neighbors, and talk with your first all-female 48th Legislative District delegation! We hope to see you there!

Who: Sen. Patty Kuderer, Rep. Joan McBride, Rep. Vandana Slatter

What: 48th Legislative District Town Hall Meeting

When: From 10 to 11:30 a.m., Saturday, January 28, 2017

Where: City Council Chambers, Redmond City Hall, 15670 NE 85th St., Redmond, WA 98073

Why: Meet your new 48th District legislators, your neighbors and friends while getting an update on what’s happening in Olympia. This will be an opportunity to talk about the issues important to you, the community, and the state.

48th LD Bylaws: Final Draft

Friends and fellow Democrats,

Here (bylaws-of-the-48th-district-democrats) you will find the final proposal of the Rules Committee for the 2017 Reorganization Meeting on January 18th.
I want to thank all of the hardworking members of the Rules Committee for their time and energy in developing this recommendation, as well as all of our PCOs and members who contributed their valuable ideas to this document and this process. The proposal, listed below, is an evolution of last week’s first draft following the feedback, suggestions, and ideas of our many district members.
At this stage, the proposal itself can be considered final.  However, we will continue to accept feedback from district members, and are willing to work with any member on crafting well-worded amendments that may be considered from the floor.
Please contact the Rules Committee at 48thrules@gmail.com with any questions or feedback. You may also reach me directly at kkeraga1@gmail.com.

Kyle Keraga
Rules Committee Chair
PCO 48-2967
48th District Democrats

48th LD Reorganization Meeting

Dear 48th LD Members,

This has been a very exciting year – National Elections, an unexpected reorganization in September after the resignation of the Chair and 2nd Vice Chair.  We’ve welcomed new members thanks to the caucuses that brought in many participants and a significant increase in the number of PCOs.  We’ve also have a Young Democrats organization and a Diversity Committee.

48th LD Reorganization Meeting and the NW Arts Center

9825 NE 24th St

Bellevue, WA 98004

7:00 – 7:15 PM Registration, Credentials, Welcome

Please arrive early in order to have sufficient time to sign in.

The proposed agenda and proposed rules for our LD’s reorganization meeting are posted on the KC dems website.

Each of the District meetings will be convened by either Bailey Stober, KC Chair or his designated appointee, who will preside until the election of our next District chair and will also provide for the sign-in of our district’s PCOs.

Re-organizations are a great opportunity to meet and greet other PCOs, Party members and leaders, and our elected officials.

We have critical special and municipal elections that we need to win this year as well as the opportunity to make significant strides before the 2018 midterms. We will need to hit the ground running.

Two items on the agenda:

7:15 PM Election of new Chair and 1st Vice Chair

7:30 PM  Adoption  of new ByLaws


8:15 PM Election of the remainder of board members

See  you are on Wednesday, January 18

Karen Tennyson

Chair 48th LD

Rules Committee: Bylaws First Draft

Friends and fellow Democrats,

Happy New Year!

The Rules Committee has been hard at work over the holidays, preparing new bylaws for our biennial Reorganization Meeting on January 18th.  On behalf of the committee, it is my pleasure to disclose the first draft of those bylaws, and to open the door for public feedback and comment:

Proposed Bylaws – First Draft

Please send your thoughts and suggestions to 48thrules@gmail.com for review.  All feedback will be given full consideration by the committee.

These bylaws were written following the excellent ideas we have received from district membership.  You may find descriptions of all major changes in the comments – simply click on highlighted text, and the corresponding comment will appear to the right of your screen.
As the holiday season necessitated more time to develop these bylaws than we had originally anticipated, we are extending our feedback deadline until January 10th.  At that time, the committee will be distributing a final proposal to the body.  However, we will continue to hear any district members who have feedback and concerns, which may be eligible for consideration as amendments to the bylaws proposal.
Thank you once more for your time,
Kyle Keraga
Rules Committee Chair
48th District Democrats

Rules Committee Updates

The Rules Committee met for the first time on December 10th to discuss early topics and finalize our schedule for drafting bylaw changes.  With exactly one month before the January reorganization, we have two important updates to announce:

(1) Deadline for feedback:
We will continue soliciting feedback and suggestions until January 4th.

(2) Draft changes on the way:

Our committee will be publishing an early draft of our proposed bylaws by December 28th.

  • At this time, you’ll be able to view the nature and language of all proposed changes.

  • We will also be providing specific comments and reasoning behind each proposed change.  

This draft will remain open to feedback until the January 4th deadline.  On that date, our committee will be finalizing its recommendation to the body in order to give the membership two weeks to review and form opinions. However, we will continue to hear any district members who have feedback and concerns, which may be eligible for consideration as amendments to the bylaws proposal.

Any questions? You may reach me at kkeraga1@gmail.com, or through the Rules Committee address provided above.

Kyle Keraga Rules Committee Chair

48th Legislative District Democrats Winter Party and Fundraiser


Donation at the door is $25 per person. The entrance price includes a light dinner and soft drink. Additional food or alcoholic beverages are also available for additional cost.

Items will be available for bid by silent auction. You are also welcome to bring items for donation to the silent auction the night of the party; make sure to let us know the approximate value of the item for our bookkeeping and reporting.

Please RSVP here: http://evite.me/yywFpTARuk

or via the Facebook event page: https://www.facebook.com/events/184243495370787/

Thank you and looking forward to seeing everyone there,

Angelina Gisselberg



Presidential Debate Watch Party!

Hello 48th LD Democrats!

As you have likely seen, this month’s regular meeting has been rescheduled for the 26th to allow for people who want to watch the final presidential debate to do so.

On the 19th, let’s watch it together!


– This will be a fundraiser event, benefiting the 48th LD.  Recommended donation at the door is $10.

– There will be Debate Bingo, with some prizes for the winners. The prizes will be amazing. Huge. Only the best prizes.

– It is easier to survive watching the debate with like-minded individuals.


So please, put this on your calendar:

48th LD Dems Debate Watch Party

Wednesday, October 19th

5:45pm until whenever it ends, likely 7:45pm

Belcarra Apartments (limited parking in building)
10688 NE 10th ST

Bellevue, WA 98004

PLEASE RSVP AT http://evite.me/pwHbDhbT1s
Hope to see you there!

James Terwilliger

Vice Chair for Events and Fundraisers